In every state in the United States of America, there is what is known as a minimum wage. And usually, the minimum wage mandated by state law is greater than the federal minimum wage, which is $7.25. In NJ, the current minimum wage is $13.00 for employers with at least six employees (except for agricultural and seasonal employees). But this minimum wage is expected to increase to $14.00 in January 2023. For workers in a company with five or fewer employees and seasonal workers, the minimum wage is $11.90. However, this minimum wage is expected to increase to $12,70 in January 2023. The minimum wage for agricultural employees in New Jersey is $10.90, but this minimum wage is expected to increase to $11.70 in January 2023. In New Jersey, there is also an overtime minimum wage. As an NJ employee, you should know that you have legal options if an employer refuses to pay you at least the minimum wage or overtime minimum wage. Read on to learn more.
What is the Overtime Minimum Wage in NJ?
Employers in NJ must pay their employees overtime unless otherwise exempt. Exceptions include certain salaried employees who meet the definition of a professional, executive, and administrative. The overtime minimum wage in NJ is 1.5 times an employee’s regular pay rate if the employee works more than 40 hours in a week.
What is the Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees?
If you are a tipped employee, you should know that there is also a minimum wage for employees like you. Currently, the minimum wage employers are required to pay tipped employees in New Jersey is $5.13 per hour. You should also know that a tipped employee’s hourly rate plus tips should equal at least the minimum wage per hour, and if they do not, it is up to the employer to pay the employee the difference.
What if Your Employer Refuses to Pay You Minimum Wage or Overtime?
You can file a claim against the employer in any of these cases. You can either sue the employer in court or file a claim with the DOLWD. However, you should know that there are time limits on claiming unpaid wages in NJ. If an employer has been paying you less than the state’s minimum wage or overtime minimum wage, reach out to a qualified employment lawyer who can help determine how much time you have to initiate your claim.
What Damages Can You Recover in an Unpaid Wage Claim?
After filing an unpaid wage claim, you can recover the actual money you are owed. Also, the NJ Wage Theft Act and FLSA allow workers to recover liquidated damages. These damages are set at 200% of your actual losses. For instance, if your employer has not paid you $4,000 in wages, you could recover $12,000.
Contact Us for Legal Help
Do you need more information on New Jersey’s wage and hour laws? Do you need guidance on the steps to take to recover your unpaid wages? Contact a skilled New Jersey employment lawyer at the Trabosh Law firm.