NJ Paid Sick Leave Know Your Rights Regarding A Leave of Absence
The NJ Paid Sick Leave Act applies to all New Jersey businesses despite their size or number of employees. The Act requires employers to provide one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked, with a maximum of 40 hours in a benefit year. The leave may be used:
- To care for the employee’s own mental or physical illness, injury or other condition;
- To care for a family member’s mental or physical illness , injury or other condition;
- To obtain legal services, treatment and other counseling in connection with the employee or the employee’s family member being a victim of domestic violence;
- To attend school-related conferences and events regarding your child’s education; or
- To care for a child whose school has closed due to a public health emergency or to cover time when your workplace has been closed due to a public health emergency.
The NJ Paid Sick Leave Act contains an anti-retaliation provision that presumes you employer has retaliated against you if they take adverse action against you within 90 days of taking leave under the act or complaining about your employer’s violation of the act.
Contact Ms. Trabosh if your employer has refused to offer you paid sick leave or has retaliated against you for using your accrued sick leave.
You Need Proper Representation
Ms. Trabosh offers a free case evaluation so that you can make an informed decision with regard to your legal action. Please call her today at (856) 874-8840 or contact her online to arrange a free consultation.
Additional articles regarding NJ paid sick leave
Were You fired for Taking a Protected Leave of Absence?
In New Jersey, employees have the legal right to take time off of work for certain reasons protected under state and federal law. An employer is not allowed to fire you for taking a protected leave of absence and can face serious legal consequences if they do. At the Trabosh Law Firm, our office protects…
All New Jersey employers are required to provide their employees paid sick leave.
The New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act, which goes into effect on October 29, 2018, requires that ALL NJ employers, regardless of size, provide no less than 40 hours of paid sick leave to their employees. How do Employees Accrue leave? Employees accrue sick leave at the rate of 1 hour for every 30 hours…